Education, Early Career, Outreach

Outreach Subcommittee

Bob Chen
Committee Chair

Outreach activities serve primarily to facilitate ASLO member engagement in public outreach through: 1) dissemination of information (e.g., Bulletin articles, organizing contributed sessions or panel discussions at conferences) and 2) coordination of training opportunities (e.g., workshops or webinars) for ASLO members. Activities also include the coordination and participation in activities that introduce nontechnical audiences to aquatic science (e.g., Science Cafes, participation in the USA Science and Engineering Festival, etc.).

Outreach activities are handled by a sub-committee of the ASLO Education and Human Resources Super Committee and currently has the following members:

Bob Chen (Chair to 12/20)
University of Massachusetts Boston Bob.Chen@umb.edu

Cindy Hagley (to 12/21)
Minnesota SeaGrant chagley@umn.edu

Carmen Aguilar (to 12/21)
University of Wisconsin aguilar@uwm.edu

Peter Williams (to 12/20)
University of Bangor oss074@bangor.ac.uk

Linda Duguay (to 12/21)
University of Southern California duguay@usc.edu

Cheryl Lyn Dybas (to 6/19)
Field Editor, Ocean Geographic magazine, cheryl.lyn.dybas@gmail.com

Elisha Wood-Charlson (to 6/19)
University of Hawaii at Manoa elishawc@hawaii.edu

Alli Fong (to 6/19)
Alfred Wegener Institute  allison.8.fong@gmail.com

Francois Clayer (to 12/20)
Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique Francois.Clayer@ete.inrs.ca

Luisa Galgani (to 12/20)
Università degli Studi di Siena luisa.galgani@icloud.com

Carolyn Scheurle (to 12/20)
Observatoire Océanologique de Villefranche-sur-Mer carolyn.scheurle@obs-vlfr.fr

Leslie Knoll (to 12/21)
University of Minnesota Twin Cities lbknoll@umn.edu

Ngozi Oguguah (to 12/21)
Nigerian Institute for Oceanography and Marine Research ngozimoguguah@yahoo.com

Adrienne Sponberg (ex officio)
ASLO Director of Communications and Science sponberg@aslo.org

Helen Schneider Lemay (ex officio)
ASLO Business Manager business@aslo.org

Feel free to get in touch about anything regarding Outreach Activities!

Meetings: All activities related to meetings are now posted directly on the meeting website. Activities include organizing contributed sessions, panels, and discussions and the creation, organization and/or coordination of training opportunities (e.g., workshops or webinars) for ASLO members.