Key Dates:

Call for Papers
Summer 2008

Abstract Submittal Deadline
3 October 2008

Authors Notified,
Student Travel Grant Recipients Notified
December 2008 

Schedule Posted
January 2009

25-30 January 2009

Foreign Entry Requirements

Citizens of the following countries must have a passport with a computer-readable bar code for entry into France: United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and Ireland. For these countries, a formal visa is not required for stays of up to 90 days. Citizens of the 27 member states of the European Union do not need a visa to enter France. Visitors, other than European Union state members, are advised to hold a return or onward ticket, documents for next destination and proof of financial means. The borderless region known as the Schengen area includes the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. All these countries issue a standard Schengen visa that has a multiple entry option that allows the holder to travel freely within the borders of all. South Africans must have a Schengen visa in addition to a valid passport.

Be sure to plan well in advance and apply early if a visa will be required. For questions regarding passports, visas, or travel requirements, please refer to the following web sites:,,, or contact your local French Consulate. 

Letters of Invitation

Contact the ASLO business office at for letters of invitation.  Letters of invitation are only issued following registration and payment of the appropriate registration fees.