Home Page | Help | Contact | Log In | Search


ASLO Award Presentations

ASLO 2013 society awards will be presented during the opening plenary session on Sunday, at the business meeting on Monday and during the morning plenary sessions Monday through Thursday.

Biographical information and award citations were included in the February issue of the L&O: Bulletin.

Sunday Opening Session:
2013 A.C. Redfield Award
presented to

Bruce J. Peterson

Senior Scientist, The Ecosystems Center, Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, Massachusetts

About the Award: The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes and honors major, long-term achievements in the fields of limnology and oceanography, including research, education and service to the community and society. In 2004, the ASLO Board renamed the Lifetime Achievement Award in honor of Alfred C. Redfield. Emphasis in selection is given to established aquatic scientists whose work is recognized for its importance and long-term influence.

View presentation video

Monday Plenary Session:
2013 Ruth Patrick Award presented to

Asit Mazumder

NSERC-Industry Research Chair, Department of Biology, University of Victoria, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

About the Award: The Ruth Patrick Award honors outstanding research by a scientist in the application of basic aquatic science principles to the identification, analysis and/or solution of important environmental problems. The award is given to aquatic scientists who have made either sustained contributions or a single, but critical contribution towards solving an environmental problem.

View presentation video

2013 Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award presented to

Emily S. Bernhardt

Associate Professor, Department of Biology, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina

About the Award: In 2012, the ASLO Board initiated a new annual award in honor of early career scientists. The Yentsch-Schindler Early Career Award honors an aquatic scientist within 12 years of the completion of their terminal degree, for outstanding and balanced contributions to research, science training, and broader societal issues such as resource management, conservation, policy, and public education. The award will be presented for the first time in 2013.

View presentation video

Monday Business Meeting:
2013 G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award presented to

Curtis A. Suttle

Professor of Earth and Ocean Sciences, Microbiology and Immunology, and Botany; Senior Fellow of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research; Associate Dean of Science, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

About the Award: The G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award has been presented annually since 1982 to recognize excellence in any aspect of limnology or oceanography. The award is intended to symbolize the quality and innovations toward which the society strives and to remind its members of these goals. In lending his name to the award, Hutchinson asked that recipients be scientists who had made considerable contributions to knowledge, and whose future work promised a continuing legacy of scientific excellence. The award is given to mid-career scientists for work accomplished during the preceding five to 10 years.

View presentation video

Tuesday Plenary Session:
2013 Citation for Scientific Excellence presented posthumously to

Scott W. Nixon

Narragansett, Rhode Island. (Dr. Nixon’s daughter, Beth Nixon, will accept the award on his behalf.)

About the Award: This episodic award was initiated in 1987 to recognize members who could not fulfill their career potential because of early death or disability.

View presentation video

Wednesday Plenary Session:
2013 John Martin Award presented to

Val Smith

Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kansas for:

V.H. Smith, “Low Nitrogen to Phosphorus Ratios Favor Dominance by Blue-Green Algae in Lake Phyplankton,” Science 221: 669-671 (August 12, 1983)

About the Award: The John Martin Award recognizes a paper in aquatic sciences that is judged to have had a high impact on subsequent research in the field. The model for such a paper is Martin et al (1991), which laid out the case for iron limitation of phytoplankton productivity in the ocean. The Martin Award is for papers at least 10 years old.

View presentation video

2013 Raymond L. Lindeman Award presented to

Jillian Petersen, Scientist

Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology Symbiosis Group, Bremen, Germany for:

J.M. Petersen, F.U. Zielinski, T. Pape, R. Seifert, C. Moraru, R. Amann, S. Hourdez, P.R. Girguis, S. D. Wankel, V. Barbe, E. Pelletier, D. Fink, C. Borowski, W. Bach, and N. Dubilier (2011) Hydrogen is an energy source for hydrothermal vent symbioses. Nature 476, 176-180.

About the Award: This annual award in honor of Raymond L. Lindeman (1915-1942) was first presented in 1987 to recognize an outstanding paper written by a young aquatic scientist age written by a scientist 35 years of age or less.

View presentation video

Thursday Plenary Session:
2013 Ramón Margalef Award for Excellence in Education
presented to

Warwick Vincent

Professor of Biology, Canada Research Chair in Aquatic Ecosystem Studies, Laval University, Quebec, QC, Canada

About the Award: This award is targeted toward ASLO members at any stage in their careers and is presented to the ASLO member who best exemplifies the highest standards of excellence in education. The Ramón Margalef Award for Excellence in Education was first presented in 2009 and is presented annually.

View presentation video