Home Page | Help | Contact | Log In | Search | Follow us: Official ASLO 2012 ASM Twitter Feed Official ASLO 2012 ASM Facebook Page


ASLO Award Presentations

2012 ASLO awards presentations will take place during the plenary sessions on Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday.

Biographical information on the awardees and award citations were included in the May 2012 issue of the L&O: Bulletin. (http://aslo.org/bulletin/issues/12_v21_i2.pdf)

Sunday, 8 July 2012

2012 A.C. Redfield Lifetime Achievement Award to Z. Maciej Gliwicz, University of Warsaw, and Winfried Lampert, Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Biology

Award Presentations

The Lifetime Achievement Award was first presented in 1994 to recognize and honor major, long-term achievements in the fields of limnology and oceanography, including research, education and service to the community and society. In 2004, the ASLO Board renamed the Lifetime Achievement Award in honor of Alfred C. Redfield. Redfield’s biography was compiled by Dr. Peter Williams, who received the Redfield Award in 2009, and published in the December 2006 issue of the Limnology and Oceanography Bulletin. Emphasis in selection is given to established aquatic scientists whose work is recognized for its importance and long-term influence.

Tuesday, 10 July 2012

2012 Ruth Patrick Award to Penny Chisholm, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (M.I.T.) and John Cullen, Dalhousie University

Award Presentations

In 1998, the ASLO board initiated the Ruth Patrick Award to honor outstanding research by a scientist in the application of basic aquatic science principles to the identification, analysis and/or solution of important environmental problems. When selecting recipients, emphasis is given to aquatic scientists who have made either sustained contributions or a single but critical contribution towards solving an environmental problem.

Wednesday, 11 July 2012

2012 G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award to James J. Elser, Arizona State University

Award Presentation

The G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award has been presented annually since 1982 to recognize excellence in any aspect of limnology or oceanography. The award is intended to symbolize the quality and innovations toward which the society strives and to remind its members of these goals. In lending his name to the award, Hutchinson asked that recipients be scientists who had made considerable contributions to knowledge, and whose future work promised a continuing legacy of scientific excellence. This award is given to mid-career scientists for work accomplished during the preceding five to 10 years.

Thursday, 12 July 2012

2012 Margalef Excellence In Education Award to John P. Smol, Queen’s University

Award Presentation

In 2008, the ASLO board initiated a new award for Excellence in Education to recognize excellence in teaching and mentoring in the fields of limnology and oceanography. This award is targeted toward ASLO members at any stage in their careers and is presented to the ASLO member who best exemplifies the highest standards of excellence in education. The Ramón Margalef Award for Excellence in Education was first presented in 2009 and is presented annually.

Friday, 13 July 2012

2012 John Martin Award to Rik Wanninkhof, NOAA/AOML for:

Wanninkhof, R., 1992. Relationship between gas exchange and wind speed over the ocean. J. Geophys. Res. 97, 7373-7381.

Award Presentation

The John Martin Award, established in 2005, recognizes a paper in aquatic sciences that is judged to have had a high impact on subsequent research in the field. This award is given to at most one paper per year. Unlike the Lindeman Award, which recognizes very recent papers (within two years) by young investigators, the Martin Award is for papers at least 10 years old, but no more than 30 years old. It must be published in English and can be from any area of aquatic sciences. The spirit of the award is such that papers leading to fundamental shifts in research focus or interpretation of a large body of previous observations will be favored.

2012 Raymond L. Lindeman Award to Stuart Jones, University of Notre Dame for the work discussed in his paper:

Jones, S.E. and Lennon, J.T. (2010) Dormancy contributes to the maintenance of microbial diversity. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America 107: 5881-5886

Award Presentation

This annual award in honor of Raymond L. Lindeman (1915-1942) was first presented in 1987 to recognize an outstanding paper written by a young aquatic scientist. The initial gift to create a fund for the Lindeman award was made in 1986 by Lindeman’s colleague in graduate school, Charles B. Reif of Wilkes College, Pennsylvania, and a subsequent gift from Reif continues to support the award. Lindeman received his Ph.D. in March 1941 from the University of Minnesota, and he began postdoctoral work with G. Evelyn Hutchinson at Yale that September. His career was cut short by his death in April, 1942; he was only 27. This annual award recognizes an outstanding paper dealing with the aquatic sciences. Nominated papers must be written in English by an author who is no older than 35 years during the publication year. The paper must be published in a peer-reviewed journal two years before the award year (e.g., 2002 award will be presented for work published in 2000). The nominee must be first author if there is more than one author.