Home Page | Help | Contact | Log In | Search | Follow us: Official ASLO 2012 ASM Twitter Feed Official ASLO 2012 ASM Facebook Page


ASLO Award Presentations

Friday, 13 July 2012

2012 Raymond L. Lindeman Award to Stuart Jones, University of Notre Dame for the work discussed in his paper:
Jones, S.E. and Lennon, J.T. (2010) Dormancy contributes to the maintenance of microbial diversity. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America 107: 5881-5886

This annual award in honor of Raymond L. Lindeman (1915-1942) was first presented in 1987 to recognize an outstanding paper written by a young aquatic scientist. The initial gift to create a fund for the Lindeman award was made in 1986 by Lindeman’s colleague in graduate school, Charles B. Reif of Wilkes College, Pennsylvania, and a subsequent gift from Reif continues to support the award. Lindeman received his Ph.D. in March 1941 from the University of Minnesota, and he began postdoctoral work with G. Evelyn Hutchinson at Yale that September. His career was cut short by his death in April, 1942; he was only 27. This annual award recognizes an outstanding paper dealing with the aquatic sciences. Nominated papers must be written in English by an author who is no older than 35 years during the publication year. The paper must be published in a peer-reviewed journal two years before the award year (e.g., 2002 award will be presented for work published in 2000). The nominee must be first author if there is more than one author.