ASLO Banner Image

ASLO Committees

Outreach Subcommittee

Outreach activities serve primarily to facilitate ASLO member engagement in public outreach through: 1) dissemination of information (e.g., Bulletin articles, organizing contributed sessions or panel discussions at conferences) and 2) coordination of training opportunities (e.g., workshops or webinars) for ASLO members. Activities also include the coordination and participation in activities that introduce nontechnical audiences to aquatic science (e.g., Science Cafes, participation in the USA Science and Engineering Festival, etc.).

Outreach activities are handled by a sub-committee of the ASLO Education and Human Resources Super Committee and currently has the following members:

Bob Chen, University of Massachusetts Boston (Chair) (to 12/18), Bob.Chen@umb.edu
Cindy Hagley, Minnesota SeaGrant (to 12/18), chagley@umn.edu
Carmen Aguilar, University of Wisconsin (to 12/18), aguilar@uwm.edu
Peter Williams, University of Bangor (to 12/18), oss074@bangor.ac.uk
Linda Duguay, University of Southern California (to 12/18), duguay@usc.edu
Cheryl Lynn Dybas, Public Affairs Specialist and Science Writer, NSF (to 6/19), cheryl.lyn.dybas@gmail.com
Elisha Wood-Charlson, University of Hawaii at Manoa (to 6/19), elishawc@hawaii.edu
Alli Fong (to 6/19), allison.8.fong@gmail.com

Feel free to get in touch about anything regarding Outreach Activities!

Meetings: All activities related to meetings are now posted directly on the meeting website. Activities include organizing contributed sessions, panels, and discussions and the creation, organization and/or coordination of training opportunities (e.g., workshops or webinars) for ASLO members.

Science education resources: http://www.aslo.org/education/resources.html#impacts