ASLO Banner Image

2008 Award Presentations

Beginning in 2008, award ceremonies are recorded for online viewing. The 2008 awards were presented at the ASLO Summer Meeting held in St Johns, Newfoundland. To view the award ceremonies for each day, click on the meeting dates shown below.

June 9, 2008

A.C. Redfield Lifetime Achievement Award
The Lifetime Achievement Award was first presented in 1994 to recognize and honor major, long-term achievements in the fields of limnology and oceanography, including research, education and service to the community and society. In 2004, the ASLO Board renamed the Lifetime Achievement Award in honor of Alfred C. Redfield. The 2008 recipient was Dr. John Hobbie for contributions in the field of aquatic microbial ecology and involvement with the development of important institutions and research programs.
Citation For Scientific Excellence
This episodic award was initiated in 1987 to recognize members who could not fulfill their career potential because of early death or disability. The 2008 recipient was Dr. Thomas Frost, for his contributions to the literature on freshwater sponges and the acidification of lakes, and for the unselfish attention that he devoted to helping others in science, providing advice, encouragement, and guidance.

June 10, 2008

Raymond L. Lindeman Award
This annual award in honor of Raymond L. Lindeman (1915-1942) was first presented in 1987 to recognize an outstanding paper written by a young aquatic scientist. The 2008 recipient was Dr. Cornelia Wuchter (2008), for Wuchter C., et al. 2006. Archaeal nitrification in the ocean. Proc. Nat. Acad. Sci. USA 103(33):12317-12322.
John Martin Award
The John Martin Award, established in 2005, recognizes a paper in aquatic sciences that is judged to have had a high impact on subsequent research in the field, and was published at least 10 years earlier. The 2008 recipient was Eppley, R. and B. Peterson. 1979. Particulate organic matter flux and planktonic new production in the deep ocean. Nature 282:677-680. The award was accepted by Dr. Richard Eppley.

June 11, 2008

Ruth Patrick Award
In 1998, the Board initiated the Ruth Patrick Award, to honor outstanding research by a scientist in the application of basic aquatic science principles to the identification, analysis and/or solution of important environmental problems. The 2008 recipient was Dr. Nancy Rabalais, for her unwavering commitment to creating a broad understanding of the dramatic expansion of coastal hypoxia in the Gulf of Mexico and her courageous struggle for implementation of policies to reduce the size and effects of hypoxia.

June 12, 2008

G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award
The G. Evelyn Hutchinson Award has been presented annually since 1982 to recognize excellence in any aspect of limnology or oceanography. The award is intended to symbolize the quality and innovations toward which the society strives and to remind its members of these goals. In lending his name to the award, Hutchinson asked that recipients be scientists who had made considerable contributions to knowledge, and whose future work promised a continuing legacy of scientific excellence. The 2008 recipient was Dr. Alice Alldredge for her work on marine snow which has and continues to revolutionize our understanding of particle flux and carbon cycling within the sea.

Distinguished Service Award
This periodic award was initiated in 1993, to recognize members who have displayed exceptional efforts that support the professional goals and enhance the stature of ASLO. Receiving this award in 2008 was Dr. Peter Jumars for more than 27 years of service in all aspects of the society, including serving on committees and the ASLO Board, serving as Editor of Limnology and Oceanography, and representing ASLO on the Council of Scientific Society Presidents.